Heard

Working to Advance Health Equity in Africa

About

Meet the team

The staff team at HEARD is composed of 30 core staff, with interns and visiting fellows contributing to HEARD’s research. HEARD is directed by an experienced senior management team providing strategic, research and operational leadership. Our diverse staff at HEARD are united by a shared commitment in working to advance health equity in Africa.

Staff

Thomais Armaos

Communications intern

Armaost@ukzn.ac.za
Dr Andrew Gibbs

Honorary Research Fellow

gibbs@ukzn.ac.za
Mesfin Getahun Haileyesus

PhD student - 2015

Murphy Kajumi

PhD student - 2015

Yumba Kakhobwe

PhD student - 2016

Professor Franklyn Lisk

Visiting Professor

Wilfred Masebo

Post-doctoral Research Fellow

MaseboW@ukzn.ac.za
Tamlyn McKenzie

PhD student - 2015

Limkile Mpofu

PhD student - 2015

Linda Mtambo

Online Content Administrator

mtambo@ukzn.ac.za
Nolwazi Ntini

Ethnographer/Fieldwork Co-ordinator

Ntinin@ukzn.ac.za
Regina Ombam

Visiting senior research fellow

ombamregina@yahoo.com
Lilian Akoth Oogo

PhD student - 2016

Professor Nana Poku

Executive Director and Professor of Health Economics

heard@ukzn.ac.za
Professor Jim Whitman

Professorial fellow and Co-director of HEARD's PhD Scholarship Programme

jimwhitman7@gmail.com